Other Betting Websites
Betting Bonuses Daily

The latest betting bonuses in your email!

Golf Betting Sites For The Majors

When people refer to the four major tournaments in golf, they are talking about the most prestigious annual events in men's golf. The "majors," as they're called, are the Masters, the United States Open Championship, the Open Championship (British Open), and the PGA Championship. There are also four prestigious tournaments in women's play and five for senior men. From time to time, the tournaments for each group change as different events become more or less prestigious.


The tournaments that are considered majors are determined by popular opinion rather than any official governing body. Each tourney has its own requirements for qualification, and for many players, simply qualifying is a significant achievement. The money that can be won is also more than in most other contests. Each major consists of four rounds of 18 holes, and has specific rules for a playoff if there is a tie after the fourth round.


As online wagering becomes more and more prevalent in today's society, people have begun to flock to golf betting sites to get in on the action. The wagers can consist of overall winning players, over/under par for a particular player, and many more money line options are available. Golf betting sites cater to enthusiasts of the game, and users are often very knowledgeable about the game and their picks. Golf betting sites are available where most online sports bookmakers take wagers.

The Different Contests

The Masters is the only men's contest held on the same course each year, at the Augusta National Club in Augusta, Georgia, every April. The competition was established in 1934, and it remains one of the most wagered and used tourney for golf betting sites and bettors. It includes the fewest players of any major (less than 100), which in theory would give bettors the best odds. The U.S. Open was established in 1895 and is conducted each June with 156 participants. The Open Championship was established in 1860 and is the oldest tourney, fielding 156 participants every July on one of nine fields in Scotland and England. The PGA Championship has 156 participants, 20 of which are professional instructors, and 136 other qualifiers.


These four contests have been considered majors since about 1960. Before the Masters was established in 1934, the British Amateur and the U.S. Amateur were considered in the same ranking, but by the late 1950s the Masters and PGA Championship had replaced the two amateur events.